The Color Behind Food

Taken on Cavalero Field at Oratory Prep
Taken at the residence of the artist
  1. For the first picture, I chose the Cheez-It because it’s one of my favorite snacks. Recently, however, I’ve been eating it almost everyday, so I’ve shown some reluctance to eating it. This is shown by the model attempting to eat it, but not being shown doing so. In contrast, for the second picture, you can see that the model is devouring the chicken. I chose the chicken because it’s one of my favorite foods and never gets old, as showcased.
  2. In the first photo, we’re outside at 8 in the morning taking the photo. It was a very sunny day out, despite being cold. I think this contributed nicely to the photo, as the white is a nice contrast to the black, and contributes to a kind atmosphere. The second photo is inside in the evening. There’s no contribution from sunlight, but in the background, you can see the use of artificial light. I think it provides a nice reflection and beam for the model.
  3. I used a great amount of symmetry in my first photo. I centered the model in the photo to draw less attention to the background and more attention to the Cheez-It. In addition, to draw attention to the Cheez-It, I took the photo chest up, symmetrically cutoff from the rest of the body. With the second photo, I took it at a diagonal. This was done to create the visual illusion that the model is eating the food in real time as you (the viewer) sees it.
  4.  The color splash technique brings emphasis and meaning to the food that wouldn’t have been there previously without it. Like the title implies, I wanted to highlight the color in food. Because of this, I concealed the background, before filling the specific food in the individual photos..
  5.  The photo I mainly incorporated technical aspects in is my second photo. I used the technique of taking the photo at an angle, as well as from underneath the model. I did this to highlight the model’s facial expressions. This is very important to the meaning of the photo, in that the techniques used, highlight his enjoyment of the food.
  6.  The advise I’d give for next year’s class doing this is just to have fun. Really be creative in the food choices you pick. I’d also suggest picking a food with a color in the rainbow so when you put into photoshop, the color splash effect can really help it pop!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *